Research Phase

19/04/18 – I have completed my initial part of the research for unit 8, which contains primary research consisting of my original experiments along with experiments that are followed via YouTube tutorials. As my role of editor, I am required to understand how I will improve the project and fix any flaws in post-production to ensure that the project remains at its highest standard. My primary research is yet to be fully completed and will need some updating in the near future. For example, it is required that I should contain my thoughts about not only how the certain effects will be used in the movie, but where they will be used along with how they will affect either the flow or the theme of the project. My secondary research contains all the information required, as well as extra information that shows my feelings towards each part. My research mainly consisted of understanding how to work comfortably between multiple software, as well as their more intricate features. This also included how to create effects unique to the software and effects that will create a diverse outcome for the project. However, I realized that the research may require a more vast explanation as to what I will attempt to do with the project as a whole to improve the general appearance of the finished project. This consists of color grading, filters on clips, and some work with the sound to improve the audio as well as the visuals.

The research will not only be used as a source of all my experiments but as a reminder to include experiments I have either forgot about or did not attempt. Leaving a large number of possible outcomes can help me in post-production to work quickly and understand which effect on which software can work best with the project. This may help in the future with any problems such as unexpected flaws like high or low exposure, as well as shots being shaky and jittery. Experimenting beforehand gives an advantage when committing to the actual project as I will know not only how to create my idea, but create it to a timed deadline. If I had to do my research again, I would refrain from overloading effects, and I would choose to further explain my current ideas in order to show my knowledge of what I am doing to a higher understanding level. This would aid me in knowing what I am doing, and explain to other members who are unaware of what I am attempting to achieve. This may be something I will look upon in the near future to fix my research. I would also create a choice for the director as to what he/she would like me to create as it is their project and the crew relies on their management.

Summarising the research, I believe that I have researched enough to have knowledge and belief in what I am looking to create and achieve.

One thought on “Research Phase

Add yours

  1. It would be good to put something in here to reflect on your research activities. You could talk about the experimental day and testing the transitions you worked on. What did you learn.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑