Developing My Skills

The role I would enjoy to participate in is the role of  camera operator.

The lowdown:

  • Preparing and operating equipment
  • Achieve the visual style of the film
  • Communicating with actors

Skills Needed:

  • know how to operate the camera expertly
  • have good working knowledge of all camera systems, lenses, support equipment and accessories
  • provide creative input
  • have artistic ability
  • be patient
  • have a good sense of visual composition, perspective and movement
  • have physical co-ordination and strength
  • combine creativity with technical skills
  • pay precise attention to detail
  • communicate effectively
  • be able to collaborate and work as part of a team
  • be diplomatic and sensitive when working with artists and crew
  • know about health and safety legislation and procedures

 

This course will help me achieve these required skills as I will learn the basics of operating a camera, along with helping me understand the effects of surroundings, lighting, sound and movement in order to have knowledge of what would look best in a film. With 2 years of camera operating I will have a natural talent with larger cameras and communication between actors and the crew to ensure a smooth operation and well made movie.

I could work on these skills outside of college by gaining experience with cameras and other equipment, either by creating my own small movies e.g. music videos, mini movies. This would drastically improve my skills with the camera and every other so I can understand how the other crew members work.

After college I could go into further education e.g. university. Career opportunities however start from the lower rank of either a camera trainee or a first AC. The main career development path is to start in a junior position, such as a camera assistant or trainee, runner or technical operator and progress from there. With experience, the next step is into the position of camera operator and then, after some years, to lighting camera person or director of photography.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑