Own Research

Primary Research:

For my primary research I conducted a survey on SurveyMonkey in order to gain information and opinions that can help create my promo video. To further plan for the promo video, I will visit Sheffield City Centre to discover the best places to film. This will mean that I can know where to set up instantly when I begin the real project, meaning its faster and I can focus on the quality of the video with one less worry to think about.

https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/2G5TNRT

Blog Post 3The planning I did included a weather forecast in order to gain information on when and where the shots can be created without any disturbance with weather. This made it easier to time when to go ahead with filming and have a set out schedule for a productive day. Another method of planning was actually used in filming. In a pair we conducted interviews in order to gain information on the “Best 3 attractions in Sheffield”. This helped us gain last second information and add possible locations for new shots to add into the promotional video. Rather than gaining footage on the camera we decided to do voice interviews as we can then place the sound as a narration behind the footage. This can not only show the peoples views with the video, but with their voices too.

Secondary Research:

Shot ideas from this video:

  • Moving time lapse (intrigues viewers and makes them watch).
  • Fading transitions (gives a smoother look and a flow to the video).
  • Shape association between foreground and background (sail and building).
  • Narration supports the shots (wind blowing, body unwinds).
  • Music works with the narration for extra effect (audience can’t stop watching).

Shot ideas from this video:

  • Transitions timed to the music for flow.
  • Pan shots to show the whole image (gives audience a sense they are there).
  • Quick one second clips to show a range of places and lifestyles in a short amount of time (for shorter attention spans keeping interest).
  • Shows their culture and what they do (Eindhoven, capital of innovation).

Both of these videos show a wide range of possible shots that can be used in my promotional video to express the culture and the lifestyle of people living in Sheffield.

Interpret the research:

Primary research: Results

blog post 3.1

I have learnt from my research that the most common thing to do in Sheffield is to meet other people. Therefore I decided to place my attention on community to express the views of people coming together in Sheffield. Sheffield was also rated by the survey as 65/100 as a tourist attraction. This also led to the theme of tourism, filming famous landmarks and structures within Sheffield. This research led to my choice of placing words over film to express the different themes people enjoy within Sheffield. This research was useful in gaining information to inspire not what I shot, but how I shot it. It gave me good inspiration on where and what to film and focus on. The survey was a guide whilst the weather forecast helped us know when to film. Therefore I believe the research and results gathered were a large help in the filming and inspiration of the project.

 

 

One thought on “Own Research

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑